A Memory of Dr. George Yost Harry

By Saang-Yoon Hyun

 
Dr. Harry, Saang Yoong, and Evelyn Harry

Dr. Harry, Saang-Yo0g, and Evelyn Harry

I met Dr. Harry first in summer of 1993 at SeaTac airport, when I entered the USA first for my graduate study at the University of Washington (UW).  During my first year at the UW, I was financially sponsored as a Rotary Foundation Ambassadorial Scholar by the Rotary International.  Dr. Harry as a Rotarian guide picked me up the airport.  We had never seen each other before, and he was showing up at the airport wearing a Rotary cap to give me a clue.   

My MS program at the UW was in Fisheries, where Dr. Harry received his Ph.D.   He was closely interested in my progress and work.  Indeed, I was helped much by him in many things: e.g., not only fisheries and academic issues but also human relation, etc.  Even still I consult him on phone or  by email.  Now we are at distant locations.  I cannot describe him only in a few words or sentence.  I was often inspired by him.  One of the most impressive characteristics of his is a wonderful balance in work, family, and social activity.  He was a well respected scientist and government manager, he has a happy family even having great-grand children, and he is loved by people.  I truly admire him.  I consider him my American grandfather.  In this year, he is 94 years old (his birth date: Jan 14, 1919).   I am glad he is still active, and hope he will continue to do so. 

About finleyc

I'm a writer and a historian of science. I'm interested in the intersection of science and policy in the oceans, and especially around fishing.
This entry was posted in fisheries science, History of Science, Pacific Fishing History Project and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

